I have found he…

I have found heaven in a tart…forcing myself to ask “Why was I not introduced to these delights previously!?!?!?”  LOL.

Walking through the market, I Imagecame across a small table with baked goods…a trigger for my sweet tooth that obviously means I must stop, and peruse the wares (lots of times to see what I can recreate in my own kitchen!  Imagine my surprise when this little woman shorter that me, offered me a small sample of her tart…which led to me having to buy six…which meant I of course had to go back and buy six more to dissect and determine my best plan of attack.  I spoke with the nice woman behind the small table, and she shared her recipe with me.

This recipe is awesome, easy to follow…and so worth the time to assemble and bake.  The aroma of the custard baking is drool worthy!  The first bite is like biting into a cloud of delicious egg custard (my apologies to anyone with egg allergies!)

Share with me, enjoy…join me in my adventure of all things good and sweet!

Prep Time: 20 Min
Cook Time: 20 Min
Ready In:   40 Min

 Makes  12 tarts 

Ingredients

  • 1 cup milk
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/2 vanilla bean
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 6 egg yolks
  • 1 (17.5 ounce) package frozen puff pastry, thawed 

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C.) Lightly grease 12 muffin cups and line bottom and sides with puff pastry.
  2. In a saucepan, combine milk, cornstarch, sugar and vanilla. Cook, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens. Place egg yolks in a medium bowl. Slowly whisk 1/2 cup of hot milk mixture into egg yolks. Gradually add egg yolk mixture back to remaining milk mixture, whisking constantly. Cook, stirring constantly, for 5 minutes, or until thickened. Remove vanilla bean.
  3. Fill pastry-lined muffin cups with mixture and bake in preheated oven for 20 minutes, or until crust is golden brown and filling is lightly browned on top

 

Image

2 thoughts on “I have found he…

Leave a Reply

